At RVC this past Sunday Matt did an amazing job teaching from Galatians 6:7-10. In these few verses, Paul compares & contrasts our sinful nature vs. the will of God and likens the principle of sowing and reaping to growing in our spiritual life… how investing in God brings more benefits than we could ever imagine! Galatians 6:9 (NIV) is the memory verse for this week and it speaks about the challenge of not growing weary and giving up, “for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” So what about waiting for the “proper time”? In the midst of waiting Paul encourages us to “as we have the opportunity to do good to all”, serving one another in love.

Matt spoke about applying this section in Galatians to our own lives as we enter into the new year. He likened the application to Galatians 5 where the fruits of the Spirit are introduced. During the close of the service he asked us to identify one trait that we would like to characterize our lives starting this new season. From the traits of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness and self- control, the trait I chose was joy. Once identified we were encouraged to attach it to a situation, share with others, and then actually to sow it into our world around us.

Why joy? I’m expecting God to move in incredibly unimaginable ways this year. I am expecting Him to answer prayer requests for my family and friends that are great. As I expect Him to have joy with me, so I should share joy with my creator. I want to cultivate a fresh faithfulness in my walk so that as I find joy within that relationship I am able to be a vessel to share it with those around me, to those that know Him and are yet to enjoy a relationship. As I touch young lives around me I want them to be able to sense this joy within so that they are caused to wonder.

One of my favorite scriptures is Zephaniah 3:17 (ESV), “The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.”

Enjoy being joyful my friends.

