Dear Mom,
I wanted to let you know I did it!

It took a little over a year of watching & waiting for my hair to finally reach donation length. At first I was apprehensive,  gathering enough courage to make the appointment call was harder than I thought.

I have to admit I thought about not donating it quite yet, since I had been receiving compliments about the length of my curls recently. I was nervous to think about the “what ifs” after the cut was made… followed by more months of growth before it became complimented again. Then it hit me as soon as I would entertain those thoughts that it wasn’t about me. How fortunate I am to be able to have my hair. In a fight that makes me feel helpless, to be able to contribute a small portion to help another gain confidence back…to feel pretty…to have hair.

With the first cut I knew I had made the right decision. It takes at least 6 ponytails to make 1 wig, and hopefully my donation of 3 will all be able to be used. Jocelyn did a fantastic job and about 9 inches are off in the mail to Pantene Pro-V’s Beautiful Lengths program.

Your journey inspired me to help another.

Thank you for still inspiring me.

Love,
Sarah

Before:

20111129-113713.jpg

After:

20111129-113805.jpg

